To Say I’ve Been On A Shawl Kick Is A Bit Of An Understatement…

8 Sep

In fact, for the past six months, shawls are the only thing I’ve been knitting. And I crank these bad boys out, usually finishing one a week depending on the complexity of the pattern. So of course, because I’ve been doing such an awesome job knitting them, I thought I could write up my very own pattern. I mean, I had the support of my Twitter Knitters (you should follow some of my lovelies. They are great friends!) and I knew in my head how I wanted it to look… So why wasn’t it working?

 After working on my prototype and frogging and re-frogging probably three times, I’ve put my project on hold. In my head I’ve got the most awesome pattern, super simple, lovely with just about any fingering weight yarn, but for some reason, what I have in my head is not translating very well into real life. I now have a partial shawl that is not at all what I had in mind. It is far from it. The lace sections are disjointed and look like I just threw a hodge-podge of different dictionary stitches together because I had no idea what to do next. And quite frankly, that’s exactly what it is. This shawl has become a nightmare. But I’m a stubborn girl and have decided that I shall finish this damn thing even if I end up cursing more than a sailor does.

My sad, sad plan is to finish this evil prototype and then go on to knitting my dream shawl; the dream shawl that has been haunting me for about two weeks now. Damn you, dream shawl! DAMN YOU!

But since I’ve taken a break from the evil prototype, I picked myself up by my flip-flops (I live in San Diego. It is not boot time yet!) and started working on Live Oak Shawlette by Rosemary (Romi) Hill. I’m also using this gorgeous sock yarn by Bittersweet Woolery that makes me drool.

You're drooling now too, aren't you?

And there are many others that I need to knit too. Not just want to knit. NEED to knit. Such as any shawl by Deborah Glaser, or the beautiful Early Autumn by Victoria Myers (which my best friend purchased for me after one of the froggings of the evil prototype to cheer me up) and I can’t forget about the Juneberry Triangle by Jared Flood or the Cladonia by Kirsten Kapur… There are just too many beautiful shawls that need to be knitted.

Is there a particular knit thing that you knit way too many of? Are you stuck in a knit rut? Have you tried designing your own wonderful knitted project only to get thwarted by yourself?

I sigh as I write this, thinking of the evil prototype, the dream shawl, and all of the pretty shawls that have still yet to be knitted or even seen. I’m telling myself that I’ll get to them all eventually. And until then, I’ll just keep on being the Shawl Queen (as Miss Rachel likes to call me.)

3 Responses to “To Say I’ve Been On A Shawl Kick Is A Bit Of An Understatement…”

  1. rachel September 9, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Oh, my darling Shawl Queen. You are cranking out blog posts as quickly as shawls right now! Maybe putting your Dream Shawl on the back-burner will help you figure it out a bit. Until then, the yarn for your Live Oak is AMAZING.

  2. games for kids September 9, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    It was a very nice idea! Just wanna say thank you for the information you have diffused. Just continue composing this kind of post. I will be a loyal reader, thanks a lot.

  3. Deborah September 13, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    I say there can never be too many shawls. They fit everyone. They give you a chance to try out new stitches you’ve never tried, or motifs that you wouldn’t usually run across. They give you a fantastic excuse to use fabulous luxury yarns, for a more reasonable price than say….knitting a sweater out of the same yarn.
    As for designing, if you have an idea (and you do), the solution will come to you eventually. Even when you’re not working on *dream shawl*, your shawl knitting is giving you experience with stitches, placement of increases and decreases, and learning how patterns are written and interpreted. Taking a break from something you can’t figure out at the moment is sometimes the best thing to do.

    Loving your blogging, sweetie!! xoxoxo

    And THANK EWE for the mention!

Leave a Reply

