Motivation Monday

19 Sep

At the end of last week I was a bad blogger and, well, didn’t blog. I feel like if I update this every single day that no one will want to read it. But I also feel that if I don’t constantly update, that I’m letting myself down. And I found that even though I didn’t update Friday through Sunday, you all still kept coming by and reading. And that makes me smile. Not gonna lie.

I kept pictures of the finished Live Oak Shawlette to myself until Friday and then posted them on Twitter. But you can see them here now too!

Blocking Live Oak

Blocking Live Oak

And here’s another close-up of the detail…

Close Up

And now we come to the motivation portion of Motivation Monday…

In a little over 13 weeks, it’ll be Christmas. Did you realize that? I’ve never been one of those people who freaks out about that up until this year. This year I’ve got 12 projects to complete before Christmas. I’m starting to think I didn’t think this through. All summer I randomly gifted my finished shawls instead of planning a little bit better. And now it’s hit me that every single day up until Christmas I’ve got to knit my little fingers to the bone.

I have 9 shawls, 1 hat, 1 cowl, and 1 scarf to complete. So for the next couple of weeks I’ll be blogging about those projects. Sneak Peaks? Nope. You shall get none until Wednesday! Or if you follow me on Twitter, you’ve probably already seen them. Cheeky monkeys.

What’s keeping you motivated to keep knitting this Monday? Are you stressing about Christmas Knits like I am? Or were you a smart bunny and knitted those gifts throughout the summer? How many gift knits do you need to do?

Keep knitting, my darlings. We’re gonna make it through this holiday season if it kills us!

One Response to “Motivation Monday”

  1. Jillian September 19, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    While I always inevitably decide to knit a few Christmas gifts at the last minute, I don’t commit myself to knitted Christmas gifts. But I have to say, I get most of my motivation from all my Twitter pals. I sort of lost interest in knitting after my beloved LYS closed (where I worked for several years). When I wasn’t seeing my knitting pals several times a week, I wouldn lose interest in a project before finishing it. Finding my new Twitter knitter friends has helped me get back into knitting in the way I like it best: as a social activity. I love the personal sense of completion I get when finishing a project, but my real favorite thing is sharing it with all my friends. Ravelry and KAls help, too, to keep me on track, so I didn’t get startitis and start a million new projects before finishing one. That was a baaaaad habit of mine from before. So, basically, YOU guys are my motivation! And awesome blogs like Miss Vicious Knits, of course. ❤

Leave a Reply

