I’m In A Bit Of A Funk…

21 Sep

With the Christmas knits looming over me, I feel like I’m in a bit of a knitting funk. I feel like I’m stuck knitting what other people want me to knit and not what I want to knit. For months now, I’ve been knitting shawls and they’ve been flying off the needles. But I’ve been knitting the same shawlette/scarf for my bestie for a week now and I feel like I haven’t made any progress. (Which probably couldn’t be farther from the truth but because it’s not done, I’m very blah about it.)

This Project... Oh My...

And I can’t help but feel like I am stuck. I almost don’t even want to knit anything! How horrible is that? I am a knitter! I am known for my knitting! I’m known for being sassy and quick and getting shit done! But this project? It sits on the needles still. And those other projects? They just sound like doom.

Darlings, what do you do to get yourselves out of the dreaded knitting funk? I need some help!

4 Responses to “I’m In A Bit Of A Funk…”

  1. worldknit & handpsun September 21, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    This is probably not what you want to hear, but I usually cast on a new project, work on it for a day or so and find I’m ready to switch back to the project I set aside. I usually have around 7 or 8 projects going at once, with a new design frequently popping into my head. My problem is although knitting is my full time job, I still don’t have enough time to knit all the things I want to. Good luck with your shawl- you’ll get it done before the holidays.

  2. Deborah September 21, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    I don’t know what to tell you since I’m stuck, too. Alex’s comment sounds good, tho! If you’re a person who can put one thing down to start another, I would try that. Or maybe cut the gift list down? You’ll get the shawl done, but maybe it doesn’t want to get done right now, at the pace you’re used to.
    xoxo

  3. rachel September 27, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    i’m in the same boat, love. i find that when my gift list gets overwhelming, i kind of give up on knitting altogether. but sometimes just trolling around on rav or the blogs gets me inspired to pick up the needles. i hope you get your mojo back asap! xx

  4. judyattitudy November 4, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    It is really exhausting when you feel you drown in work your sick of doing. I make a lot of soccer-supporter bobble hats. It doesn’t take long to make such a hat, but when you’ve knitted the same pattern for weeks because everybody wants one- you get sick of it!

    I usually put it a side. I either start a new project I REALLY REALLY want to do and work on it for a couple of days (if its a hat I start its usually only a day, if its a sweatter I put the orginal work a side for several!)

    haha sometimes when the funk is too large to even knitt, I read a book!

Leave a Reply

