I Am Miss Vicious

7 Oct

Sometimes I get into this funk where in the knitting community, I feel like a little fish in a big, BIG pond. Here I am, swimming around, barely making a ripple. Whereas the big fish, like Stephen West, make tidal waves as they go through their days swimming.

But Miss Kim reminded me of something. She said to me tonight “are not! [Referring to me calling myself a small fish] Yous Miss Vicious for fucks sake! You are immense in yarnballs and attitude :-)”

And she’s right. I AM Miss Vicious. I might not make huge waves in the knitting community but I do some kick ass work and have made some awesome knitting friends. I can power out shawls like you cannot believe and even though I might get frustrated with a project, I never give up. I have conquered sweaters and lace shawls and have even attempted to design a thing or two.

One day, yes, it’d be nice to be a big fish (Oh-hello-Stephen-West-fame), but maybe for now, I can settle for being a kick ass small fish.

With that being said, What the Fuck has my problem been lately? Every morning on my commute into work I’ve thought to myself “I need to write a blog post today” and instead, I’ve been procrastinating. Because I felt like I’d already written some awesome posts and that I had plateaued. How disappointed have you all been, knowing that I haven’t written a sassy new post for you to read? I know you’ve been dying to hear about my finished projects.

Using custom dyed AtKnitsEnd yarn for my mom's Christmas shawl

Since the last time I posted, I finished the From Dawn Till Dusk Shawlette by Tetiana Otruta, created a wrap based off of a cowl called A Cowl with a Little Twist by Linda Frydl, finished a Zig Zag Shawl by Marion Bulin, finished New Moon Shawl by Anita Grahn, and started two christmas projects. BOOYAH. I have been a busy bee for the past couple of weeks. Not to mention that on Monday I plan on participating in the At Knits End Knit-A-Long featuring the Holden Shawlette by Mindy Wilkes.

How have you darlings been? Working your fingers to the bone? Knitting up a storm? Lusting for a new Miss Vicious Knits blog post? Tell me all the juicy gossip!

3 Responses to “I Am Miss Vicious”

  1. claireejknits October 7, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    Oh please…you are a big fish. Since finding you on Tumblr aeons ago now, I have followed your progress with interest. The amount of gifts you turn out astounds me and you have so much to cope with. You, Miss Sweet Vicious, amaze me and inspire me too. Mucho hugs and goodnight. I really must go back to bed. Love you babes. Cxx

  2. claireejknits October 7, 2011 at 4:35 am #

    And, while I think of it before snoresville, you should totally use this photo as your Twitter avatar. It rocks.xx

  3. Bonnie October 8, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    I have no idea what size fish you are, seeing that I only started following your pages (here, tumblr, twitter) a short while ago. But if it helps, I find your posts all around fun, your work inspiring and think you have a great sense of humor. Personality is why I follow people. I like quirky people. (I mean that in a good way, so I hope you take it that way). I look forward to reading and seeing the knits!

    I’ve been slacking on the knitting. Being a somewhat newbie, I promised myself this was the Fall/Winter where I would learn how to knit socks finally. Haven’t started yet. I recently freestyled a cute heavy-slouchy hat for my etsy shop. I’m putting that up this weekend. It just started getting chilly where I am, so I anticipate much geeky comfort movies and tv, tea and knitting to take over my life soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

