I’ve Decided To Quit Smoking With The Help of Knit Picks Sugarbunny Yarn

23 Jan

After smoking on again and off again (mostly on) since the age of 13, I have decided to quit smoking. That is 11 years of smoking. I’m quitting. I’m gonna do it. It’s gonna happen. I decided to quit four days ago and it’s been pretty rough. But I’ve got things to help me! Like Nicorette gum, regular gum, electronic cigarettes, and my Twitter Knitter friends who are keeping me honest.

I’m not going to lie, I’ve cheated and had a cigarette here and there. I even had one this morning! (Tisk, tisk.) But I’ve decided that, for now, I’ll only be allowed to have two cigarettes. I can have one in the morning, and one right before I go to bed. And once I’ve conquered doing that, I’m going to only do one a day. AND THEN NONE A DAY! If I can quit smoking, I CAN DO ANYTHING!

And since I decided that I was going to quit smoking, I thought I’d do something REALLY nice for myself as a reward. I decided to knit A Certain Shade of Green Shawl by Fiddle Knits. I’ve been sitting on this pattern for months now, thinking that I’d knit it once all the Christmas knits were finished. And then I kept getting requests to knit things. So finally I said “NO MORE!” and now it’s MY TURN! I’ve pushed aside all projects to knit this wonderful, cozy, warm shawl just for me.

I’m on skein 3 of Knit Picks lust-worthy Sugarbunny yarn in wine. It’s lust-worthy. I said it. The yarn is SUPER soft and is knitting up very nicely. There’s only one downside – This 80% Merino 20% angora yarn from heaven sheds like crazy. I’ve got little wine red fibers all over my apartment and clothes. It’s like I’ve got a little soft bunny shedding on me every time I knit with it. Now knitters, don’t let this discourage you. In fact, use it as a challenge! How much extra fluff can you collect on yourself? If you have enough to make a one inch ball, you’re the winner!

Alright, so, can you tell that quitting smoking is making me a little crazy? I mean, what nut ball would make shedding yarn into a challenge?

Knitters, have you ever smoked? Have you ever tried to quit smoking? What did YOU do to quit? This little ball of fidgety-ness needs YOUR HELP!

Let’s keep me honest and give me some ideas to help keep me motivated to quit smoking, eh?

20120123-093404.jpg

4 Responses to “I’ve Decided To Quit Smoking With The Help of Knit Picks Sugarbunny Yarn”

  1. Leann Brown January 23, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    I smoked for 20 years. I was finally able to quit by using the pills. Its been almost 3 years now and I’m so glad I did. Good luck!

  2. weekend knitter January 23, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    I actually was given a cigarette once when I was smaller. Me and my brother. He could blow rings and I couldn’t. So he took to it really well and I didn’t, lol! My vice is probably french fries though. I have had a large fry everyday for the past week. We all have our something we have to kick…when we’re ready…clearly I am not just yet. And, yes, my rear is going to pay dearly, I’m sure. 🙂

    Your shawl is looking mighty awesome!

  3. Kim January 23, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    I smoked for years, and successfully quit 23 years ago, when I was pregnant for my third child. After he was born, I couldn’t start up again because I was diagnosed with Pulmonary Scaroidosis. I had no choice but to stop. Good luck, you can do it!

  4. darciad January 23, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    Years ago I smoked for a few years. When my boyfriend refused to kiss me when I’d been smoking, I quit pretty quickly. Kisses vs smokes? No contest!

Leave a Reply

