Why I Knit

7 Feb

20120207-095411.jpg

I’d like to think I was born to knit, that it was just naturally in my genes and I didn’t have to work hard at it. That statement would be a bold faced lie.

I started knitting when I lived in Virginia, in the late summer/early fall of 2008, with a friend because at the time I was seeing a therapist who suggested that my friend and I needed an activity to do together other than drinking coffee and eating cupcakes (both of which we were really good at.) So out of the blue, we decided to pick up knitting.

My first yarn was one of the Lion Brand chunky yarns in a burgundy color and I was determined to knit a scarf. I knew I could do it. But after getting frustrated and packing up my needles for a cross country move, the knitting kinda stopped. Until I unpacked the work one day in San Diego (where I currently reside.) It was like the knitting bug bit me in the ass. I was obsessed with garter stitch scarves made out of whatever yarn I could find at my local Joann Fabrics. And then I got introduced to the fancy yarns. Ohhhh the fancy yarns. I love them.

Fast forward to now and I knit because I don’t have a social life. My discoid lupus keeps me cooped up inside. I’ve read tons of stories about people with discoid lupus who have an active outdoors life but ever since I was diagnosed, I fear the sun. I fear new lesions on my face and the stares that I feel like I get when I do go out. Knitting gives me a productive activity that makes me feel that my life isn’t being totally wasted by being inside.

I now knit to give gifts to people. I knit lace shawls and get a huge kick when I give them away and the receiver is in awe of what I have done. Damn right I can knit!

So how did you start knitting? Why do you knit now? Let me know!

Also, I have an exciting project that I’ll be introducing in my next post. Be on the lookout for it!

This post was inspired by Erron, one of my Twitter Knitter friends, who writes at her own knitting blog, Knit Love. You can read her original, inspiring post here.

4 Responses to “Why I Knit”

  1. Natalie February 7, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    I started to knit so that I could make something for my mum for Christmas 2010. I always used to make food hampers, with chutneys, jam, sweets, all kinds of things, for my parents. But after my dad died, mum didn’t want to have them anymore (which I totally understand). I needed to give something I made myself, it’s my thing, so I took up knitting.

    Then I discovered that I love doing it, and I know just what you mean about the good yarns πŸ˜‰

  2. Erron February 7, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Wow. I knew you have lupus Brittany, but I know very little about it, other than on the television show House it’s never Lupus, and I know about lupus antibodies that prevent pregnancy(but that’s not lupus). I had no idea it kept you out of the sun. Is sunscreen not enough? I can’t imagine being indoors so much. After the winters here, I love to be outside, in the garden knitting in the sun. Knitting outside is one of my greatest pleasures.

    You are a star knitter. For me I love giving knitting gifts partly because people who don’t knit feel I must be some sort of genius to have knit it. I love the trickery of it, no genius here.

    Sounds like our starts were similar. I think my first yarn was made by Bernat, and I had those horrible aluminum needles that are noisy and draggy.

    I love the idea of knitting trough something, knitting it in to the fabric, so it becomes something beautiful. Light, instead of heavy.

    Thanks for the Ping. I love reading your blog.

    PS I’m all about the coffee and cupcakes (gluten free please) too my friend.

  3. Shauna February 7, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Hi Miss Vicious! I learned to knit because I was stuck in a rut and losing my mind at a particular point in my life. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. Now I knit because I am an addict πŸ™‚

  4. Weekend Knitter February 9, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    That is a beautiful how I learned to knit story!

Leave a Reply

