Oh For the Love of Knit Wear Designers

7 Mar

I’ve had the pleasure of being good acquaintances (on Twitter) with some awesome Designers. I mean, these gals go out of their way to help me if I have a question or give suggestions to make my knitting life easier (even if I’m not knitting one of their patterns!) These ladies include:

Allyson Dykhuizen – Owner of Sweatshop of Love and Holla Knits. Designer of all things yummy.

Deborah Glaser – Designs under the name Oblivious Knits. Super nice lady and designs some of the most scrumptious lace shawls I have EVER seen.

Erron Anderson – Of Knit Love. Has a family of six, designer, and all around awesome bloggess.

And now, now I’ve come into contact with Lisa Mutch. Now, some of you may remember that I’m knitting Lisa’s Lenore sweater.

20120307-094705.jpg

I’ve been knitting the body of this for about a week now and I hadn’t given much thought to the sleeves until I saw someone else’s Lenore Sweater on rav which showed that the sweater had, for lack of a better term, flowy sleeves. Now, I’m a short girl and not particularly thin so I don’t imagine something with flowy sleeves would work for me. But Kristi and I had decided that this was the sweater we were going to knit, so I wasn’t about to just frog everything because I didn’t care for the sleeves.

Instead, I went looking around Miss Lisa’s other designs and found the Altostratus sweater. It is almost exactly like Lenore, but more form fitting. And the sleeves looked like they could be done on the Lenore sweater so I could take the sleeves from Altostratus and put them on the body of Lenore.

I did something I almost never do… I contacted the designer. Most of the time I just dive in head first on my crazy notions but this time, as the project is kinda costly to me due to the amount of yarn, I was cautious and messaged Lisa on Ravelry to see what she thought about the modification.

Within the hour, Lisa had messaged me back and even went ahead and sent me the Altostratus pattern.(HOW NICE OF HER!!!!) We’ve conversed about my ideas about the modification and it appears that we both agree it can be done.

Flipping through some of her other patterns, I’m beginning to fall in love with the simplicity that her designs express. Garments that can be worn for either gender, simple stitches, and each design displays the beauty of the yarn. I’m swooning over cowls (which I NEVER wear) and sweaters that are normally not my style. AND EVEN HATS. And you guys know how OVER hats I am!

The following pictures are from Lisa’s newest designs:

20120307-101413.jpg
This is Sleet. A GORGEOUS cowl.

20120307-101549.jpg
Trivium – A set of three! A cowl, hat, and fingerless gloves.

20120307-101659.jpg
Iridium – A pullover sweater with a cowl neck.

Now I ask you, HOW CAN YOU NOT WANT TO KNIT ALL OF HER THINGS??? HMMM? And this is just THREE of her designs. That’s not even all of them!

So GO, my minions! Go now! Go look at Lisa Mutch’s designs and knit her beautiful things! If not for me, do it for yourself!

3 Responses to “Oh For the Love of Knit Wear Designers”

  1. Allie March 7, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    Wow those are gorgeous. I’ll have to check her stuff out!!

  2. Deborah March 7, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Thank you so much, Miss Vicious, for including me with these talented designers!!

  3. weekend knitter March 11, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    That trivium set!! I am an accessory lover and that set is a must knit. I LOVE the simplicity and sheer chic of it!

    Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

