And The Winner Is… PLUS an Interview with Lisa Mutch of Northbound Knitting!

28 Mar
© Lisa Mutch

The Winner

20120328-095137.jpg

Congrats to Deborah! I’ll try emailing you but please send me an email at brittvicious@gmail.com just in case!

We had a great bunch of people comment on the giveaway post to win a copy of Lisa Mutch’s Nightlock shawl (which I will email the winner) and to receive two skeins of Lisa’s yarn. Thank you to EVERYONE that entered, retweeted, and commented. Your appreciation made Lisa and I smile tons!

The Interview

Over the past couple of weeks I have had the joy and the pleasure of getting to chat with Lisa. She’s a dear sweetheart. Not gonna lie. I’d get all sappy about how awesome she is but I have a feeling that that would just bore everyone to tears. Or, I’d run out of nice things to say about her. In my time getting to know her, I was dying to ask her questions about her process and how she comes up with the things she does. Lisa was kind enough to answer some of my questions.

1. How did you first get into knitting?

I always loved the look of hand knit scarves and sweaters, so about 10 years ago when I quit smoking, I decided knitting would be the perfect hobby to keep my hands busy. I went to the local craft store, bought a Debbie Bliss ‘how to knit’ book, some needles, yarn and taught myself how to knit.

2. What was your first design and how did you come up with it?

Hmmm, my first design…..I started making up my own patterns very soon after learning to knit. I could never seem to get the recommended gauge or didn’t have the right weight yarn so I would improvise or just make it up as I went along. Before I figured out how to knit in the round, I would knit a flat rectangle, seam the long edges together, leaving a 3″ hole and voila, wrist warmers.

3. What inspires your knit wear?

My designs are always a result of something I want to wear. Either I see a shape that would make a cool sweater, or really need a light weight spring scarf. But all of my designs come from the selfish girl in me who needs 27 cardigans and a different shawl to wear every day of the week.

4. From start to finish, how long does it take to come up with designs?

From start to finish, the publication of a pattern can take several months. First there is sketching and swatching. A lot of sketching. And a lot of swatching. Then I knit the sample, write the pattern, edit the pdf, have it tech edited and test knit. Doesn’t sound like much, but it can be a several month long process.

5. When did you start dyeing?

I started dyeing about a year or so after knitting. Once again, being the annoyingly fussy person that I am, I could never find the exact colour I was looking for. Then as soon as I discovered spinning, the dyeing became an obsession. Not only could I dye my own yarn, but I could dye my own spinning fiber and that’s when all the fiber started piling up.

6. What do you use for dyes? What does your process include

I use professional grade acid dyes on my yarn and fiber but I did a lot of dabbling with kool-aid when I first started which was soooo much fun, and smelled delicious.

7. What inspires your color ways?

Oh, colourway inspiration is everywhere. A lot of my colourways are based on food and nature but really, I see potential colourways in everything, my children’s toys, hair colours, nail polish, everything.

8. What can we expect to see from you in the upcoming months?

The next few months are looking pretty busy. I have a few new yarn bases, fiber breeds and colourways to try out. And of course, I always have too many design ideas floating around in my head, distracting me.

9. Where do you do all your creating? Do you have a special space?

I have a knitting spot, with a little table where I keep my ‘Project’ binder. This is where I sit at night, when the kids have gone to bed and I can write down ideas, do some sketching or swatching.

10. How did you first come about selling your awesome yarns and designs?

A knitting friend of mine had a booth at our local farmer’s market where she sold wool and craft supplies and asked if I wanted to give her a few things to sell. I wrote up a few of my wrist warmer patterns, along with some hand dyed fiber and yarn and over the next few months, my stuff sold really well. From there, I opened my Etsy shop and published a few patterns on Ravelry, and well, that’s it.

11. I wanna know is designing and dyeing your job? Or do you have a job job? Other than your family of course.

Well, yeah. I’m a stay at home mom but gradually, my dyeing and designing has grown from a hobby into a business and my part time job. Hopefully with the way things are going, it’ll be my full time job very soon.

12.What is the most exciting part of your “job” to you?

Hmmmm, that’s a good one. So much of it is exciting to me. I get pretty excited about trying new colourways. Oh, and seeing people’s reactions to a new design. I also get waaaay too excited about yarn and fiber photoshoots and posting spoiler pics.

13.I like to imagine my faves put on a tv show or certain music while dyeing or designing, do you do that? If so, what’s the playlist?

Oh yeah, I always listen to music when dyeing. It’s very inspirational and usually influences what colourways I end up dyeing that day. I listen to everything, and it really depends on my mood. One day it’ll be The Cure, next could be Adele or Weezer or Radiohead. You never know. I don’t listen to music when designing though. There’s too many numbers and math. I need quiet, and sometimes chocolate.

Remember, you can purchase Lisa’s wonderful patterns on Ravelry or in her Etsy Shop.

3 Responses to “And The Winner Is… PLUS an Interview with Lisa Mutch of Northbound Knitting!”

  1. kristilynnmcd March 28, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    CONGRATS DEB!!! ❤

    and to you my little Vicious, i am very proud of you. it is wonderful to watch you grow into the little media mogul i know you are. soon MVK will take over! keep dreaming big and ill be right behind you every step of the way. love you bb. TT!!

    Lisa! thank you so much for sharing your work with us! your yarns are beautiful and i lust after your patterns daily. I am really enjoying knitting Lenore right now, it is simplistically stunning. i cannot wait to purchase some of your yarn to knit up one of your other patterns.

  2. Deborah March 28, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Thanks to Miss Vicious and Lisa Mutch for the giveaway!!
    I’m sooooo excited!!
    I can’t wait to see what comes next from both of you!
    …and love that Lisa sometimes dyes to Radiohead and The Cure:)

    xoxoxo

  3. Johna73 May 22, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    Spot on with this writeup, I actually believe this website needs a great deal more attention. Ill probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the info! ccbbfebeekka

Leave a Reply

