Lenore No More

4 Apr

20120405-091130.jpg

Come! let the burial rite be read -the funeral song be sung! –
An anthem for the queenliest dead that ever died so young –
A dirge for her, the doubly dead in that she died so young.

Excerpt from Edgar Allen Poe’s “Lenore”

Lenore and I weren’t getting along. She was naughty. She needed to be punished. I put so much time and hard work into her and all she was doing was laughing at me. She threatened to make my butt look big. She mocked me when I made mistakes. And I just couldn’t take it anymore. I think she got what she deserved…

Lenore got unraveled.

THAT’S RIGHT! I DID IT!

The Lenore cardigan by Lisa Mutch got put in time out on Tuesday evening after talking with one of my wonderful San Diego knitter friends who said “You know, this may not be the best knit for you.” And you know what? She was right!

I’ve fought with Lenore for so long that I was determined to make the knit work. I REALLY wanted to win on this one. I’ve never met a knit that I couldn’t conquer. But Lenore was a tough cookie to crack. I wanted to finish her because I was knitting her with my bestie, Kristi. I wanted to finish her because I didn’t want to let Lisa down or disappoint her or make her feel like I didn’t like her design. I didn’t want to disappoint you guys, my readers, in knowing that I couldn’t finish such a simple knit.

But I wasn’t having fun anymore. Picking the cardigan up to work on it was a hassle. And I wasn’t feeling any sort of accomplishment. Especially since I had already unraveled it once and I had to go back this weekend and frog back five really REALLY long rows to fix a stockinette mistake I had made on the garter stitch border.

So Lenore got unraveled. The beautiful Tip It Ewe Lush fingering weight yarn by At Knits End Yarns will be used to make an Altostratus by Lisa Mutch when I can get to it. Right now, I’m knitting something super secret that will be revealed next week.

Have you ever knit anything that was naughty? Ever had to unravel a project and gotten a sensation of utter delight has you ripped it back?

5 Responses to “Lenore No More”

  1. Deb R April 5, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Guess she made you see red, huh?

  2. Erron April 5, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    I have a frogged Alvaro sweater on my ravelry page. It’s a pattern I paid for. I bought all the yarn (for 3 matching sweaters for the littles), in sport, not worsted, and had to repurchase,I tried to convert the pattern to ITR, and I was to inexperienced to do it properly. In the end I made it up to the neck and couldn’t figure out how to add the sleeves to my altered design. I loved/and hated frogging it. It too is a simple knit that defeated me. Now, I have a huge stash of shine in three colours of sport and worsted. Slowly it is getting used up. I made M a Pembrook(e) vest, and I love it.

    Do you know how to drop stitches to fix mistakes? I realized on the baby sweater I’m doing now, that I forgot a button hole, and had to drop 3 sts 10 rows down.

  3. Susie April 6, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    Sometimes you just have to know when to walk away. I have a sweater in my closet for three years. My friend said she’d finish it for me and I’m going to let her.

  4. Charlie Goch April 6, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    I just finished a cowl. I had checked the guage, tried to change it, written the changes on the pattern, decided to stick to the original, gone away for a few days and then came back and used the instructions I wrote on the pattern. I had forgotten to remind myself that I hadn’t changed it. By the time I got it back on track and looked at the imperfections that were in the ‘right’ way of doing it anyway I figured the ones from the wrong way didnt make much difference. I went for the “Perfection is the realm of the Gods” theory. It’s human now.

Leave a Reply

