Lesson Learned

2 May

20120502-121107.jpg

I very rarely bitch about knitting products. My tools and yarn are almost always of good quality and really, when you find something you like, you stick with it, right?

Remember when I said how excited I was about learning to knit socks? Last Wednesday, Deb and I went to a LYS where I picked up a skein of Plymouth Sockin’ Sox yarn & a pair of 2.75mm 40″ metal cable ChiaoGoo needles. I had been hesitant about the needles since I already knew I didn’t like the join on the plastic cable ChiaoGoo needles that I had used for Erron’s Baby Sleep Sack. But the woman who owned the shop swore the metal cable was good. And I believed her.

By the end of Saturday the varnish was wearing off the needles. I knit hard and figured this was to be expected with all the friction I was creating. By Monday I cast on a new sock for Erron. Monday the needles were catching on the yarn due to very slight splintering. Then this morning, I had to do something I never thought I would have to do with a pair of needles… the splintering had gotten so bad I actually had to take a nail file to one of the needles and file it until it was smooth.

For those keeping score:
– Wednesday Night ~ Cast On First Sock
– Saturday Night ~ Finished First Pair of Socks
– Monday Morning ~ Cast On First Sock for Second Pair of Socks
– Wednesday Morning ~ Filed Needle

So I filed and continued knitting. Thirty minutes later, the cable join disconnected from the needle.

20120502-121838.jpg

ChiaoGoo needles can kiss my fucking ass. They lasted for knitting two and a half socks. Seriously? I’ve NEVER EVER had a problem like this with Knit Picks needles. And I guess now I’ve learned my lesson.

Two and a half socks…

Less than a week…

I can guaran-damn-tee you that if my needles don’t get replaced for free that I will be bringing down a shit storm on ChiaoGoo AND the yarn store I bought them from.

5 Responses to “Lesson Learned”

  1. Stacey Slager (@yarnsalad) May 2, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    I sure hope you are going to take those needles back to the shop. I’ve had nothing but good luck with ChiaGoo, but I get your scorn. Sorry to hear your taile of woe, friend!

    Also: holy crap do you ever knit fast!

  2. threadpanda May 2, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear you had a bad experience with your needles! I use a number of Chiao Goos and have never had a problem like this–though mine are metal and not wood, so maybe there’s some strange discrepancy between those. I hope you have a satisfactory resolution!

  3. weekend knitter May 3, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Sorry you had so many problems with those. I don’t own any. But I have heard nothing but good things about them? Wow. You look REALLY angry. I hope they fix that soon.

  4. notoriousjwc May 5, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Try Hiya-hiyas! I swear by them!

  5. KnittingRad May 7, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Knit Picks harmony wood forever. I love my harmony’s they will have to pry them from my cold dead hands….

Leave a Reply

