Review: Anna Shawl by Franklin Habit (Part One)

22 May

I’ve got a real problem with snobby knit wear designers. I’ve also got a real problem with knit wear designers who write overly wordy patterns.

I was super excited to knit Franklin Habit’s Anna shawl as part of a Knit a Long being hosted by my good friend, Kim. I’d never knit one of his patterns before, and as he is well known in the knitting community, I figured that his pattern would be a delight to knit.

I came across my first problem somewhere in the collar section where the pattern says:
Rows 4-8: Knit row 3 5x.

Wouldn’t it have just been simpler to write “Rows 4-8: knit row 3”? Why make it wordy and complicated sounding? Making a pattern sound more complicated than it is does NOT make it an advanced pattern. It makes it a pain in the ass to knit. And that is why I’ve nick-named my Anna shawl “Pain in the ass”. Because unfortunately, that is exactly what this pattern is.

5 Responses to “Review: Anna Shawl by Franklin Habit (Part One)”

  1. Sandi Bland May 22, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    As one of the participants of the Anna KAL, I too am not as happy as I could be. I agree that this pattern is not well written and leaves the knitter in some doubt as to what should be done. Thank you for voicing my concerns.

  2. Sillygirlsarah May 22, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    How hard is it as well to add in that one should do the center panel times five and then each chart repeat, add two repeats? I am really unhappy with this pattern and if it wasn’t for the fact that this is a contest held by someone I love and had shelled out money for the pattern I would have taken off. This is not a newbie friendly pattern and wish that, if the author seems to like being verbose and write lots of instructions, that they could have included a written version of the chart for one who aren’t so great at chart reading.

  3. Rashie May 22, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    You are one candid motherfucker, Miss Vish. I adore this about you.

  4. Curls & Q May 22, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    That’s like the brioche knitting. What’s with all the yf and yb when it means yo k1. Then brioche knit 1 (brk1) when it just means knit 2 together. Weird!

  5. Jillian May 24, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    I haven’t checked out this pattern, but I have do have some thoughts about overly wordy patterns. Lol.

    I hate overly wordy patterns. They’re the opposite of advanced–they’re for beginning knitters. We have standardized abbreviations for a reason–they make reading a pattern faster and easier. Wordy patterns insult my intelligence as a knitter.

    And based on some of the other comments–I hate it when a pattern doesn’t say how many times to repeat each chart! Pain in the ass is right!

Leave a Reply

