Knitting Funk… AGAIN.

30 May

20120530-090608.jpg

I know I’ve been awfully quiet lately. For those that follow me on Twitter, you already know that I had a biopsy on my hand a couple weeks ago and so I was nursing that. And it was in a really awkward place which made it hard to type and to knit. Also, I really didn’t have anything to write about.

I’ve been working on knitting socks a lot lately. And the picture at the top of this post is a finished Anna shawl by Franklin Habit that I completed for Kim’s KAL. After all the frustration (pattern and personal frustration) with that shawl, I was feeling sort of like I was in a knitting funk again.

I’m the kind of person who likes to give people things. Giving people things gives me extreme joy. And unfortunately, like most people, I don’t have a lot of money. So I knit gifts for people. I had promised socks for Kim and socks for Lisa and there’s always knitting going on for Project: Knit for Erron. But after finishing that shawl I was very blah-tastic. After consulting some trusty knitter friends, I decided to take a small break from the gift knitting and knit myself some socks. I’m currently working on some plain socks for myself knit with Crazy Zauberball. And besides some small errors that I’m making, I’m REALLY loving working with the yarn.

20120530-091134.jpg

There’s nothing quite like working with yarn like this. It’s been super nice because I never know what color is coming next or how it’ll look knit up.

After these socks, it’s back to gift knitting. I find that it is super hard for me to knit for other knitters because I’m afraid that they’ll think my work isn’t good enough or that the yarn I used is crappy. I’ve been very careful which of my knitter friends I’ve promised gifts to because of that.

Do you get wickedly paranoid about knitting for other knitters? What knits do you knit for other knitters? How many times can I use a variation of “knit” in a sentence?

10 Responses to “Knitting Funk… AGAIN.”

  1. defysociety May 30, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Since I have taken a 2 year break from knitting (and only knit basic things) hell yeah I would feel it! But even crocheting things for others who crochet and who dont I get nervous. I always wonder if they REALLY like what I’m giving them, I can’t always afford the best yarns either for gift giving, but I figure it’s more the LOVE you put into something and people won’t really care about how much you spend on the yarn or the name brand on the yarn, but the quality of love that you put into what you make, that’s all that REALLY matters.

  2. Natalie May 30, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    I rarely knit for other people. And when I do, it is on the condition that they understand that I might get into a funk and not want to knit that project for a while (or, I knit things as a surprise, so there’s no pressure to finish quickly)

  3. Curls & Q May 30, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Absolutely gorgeous shawl!! I’m tired just looking at it! My mom was a Home Ec teacher, so I was raised paranoid about anything I made! 😎 Love her dearly, but she critiqued EVERY thing I made. 😎 I worked with an Mennonite woman once, and she said they and the Amish were raised to make sure there was a mistake in every quilt since only God could create perfection. So, now I look at my small yucks in projects as being human. 😎 It helps. 😎

    • Craftie Allie June 11, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Ooooh I love that! My mistakes exist for a reason!

      • Curls & Q June 11, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

        And that’s the truth!! 😎

  4. caseyknits May 30, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    I’m weird: I’d *rather* knit for other knitters (or crafters). After almost 20 years of crafting gifts, I’ve found that other knitters are the only people who really understand the work, care, and thought that goes into a handmade gift… to the point where, if a non-crafty friend wants something, I have to know that person REALLY WELL (or have a good stern talk with them about care and expectations, haha) before I’ll even consider casting on.

    Nothing I make is ever perfect. I consider it my signature. πŸ˜‰ So far, nobody’s been stupid enough to point the mistakes out.

  5. Patti B May 30, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Knitting for other knitters is tricky. It’s kind of awesome, because you know the person who gets it will appreciate the effort. Only at the same time I’m worried about every little mistake I might have made, twisted stitch whatever, and knowing they might see it and recognize it as an oops. Not that they would say anything (otherwise they wouldn’t be knit worthy) but still.

  6. Curls & Q June 1, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    Morning, we are pleased to inform you that we have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger award. We enjoy reading your blog and hope that you can meet us at The Office one day. 😎 See our post for the next steps. Enjoy!

  7. Nathaly June 13, 2012 at 2:22 am #

    In a point I would agree with your thought that it is super hard you to knit for other knitters because you are afraid that they’ll think your work isn’t good enough or that the yarn I used is crappy. But I think you’ve done one of the best in knitting. It’s not on the knitting process but it’s on the output that you have. Some times we have different ways or patterns to follow.

Leave a Reply

