AMAZING Doesn’t Even Begin To Describe It…

11 Jun

You remember how I’ve been complaining about being in a knitting funk? NOT ANYMORE!

That’s why I’ve been so quiet; I’ve been too busy knitting! So what have I been knitting? Well, I finished knitting Atmospheric by Meghan Jackson.

20120611-090429.jpg

I absolutely could not put it down! Every moment I had some free time I picked it up and knit until I couldn’t knit anymore. And you know how I hate knitting anything other than purl on the wrong side rows? This pattern asks you to knit the pattern on the wrong side and it absolutely didn’t bother me. This pattern is out of this world! I HIGHLY recommend it for anyone looking for a little something different to knit.

Oh, and FYI, I used Northbound Knitting’s fingering weight yarn in Chanterelle. I can’t say enough wonderful things about this yarn. The base is SUPER soft (and for the life of me I can’t remember what it is… BFL maybe?) and the color isn’t normally something I’d choose to knit with but it came out looking ABSOLUTELY delicious! Atmospheric was knit for my good friend, Lisa, and I cannot WAIT to see how it looks on her!

And since the end of May, I’ve been test knitting Heliophysics (also by Meghan Jackson) This knit was designed for Wrapped Up in Yummy Yarn Club and the pattern is available through the club or will be available for individual download in October.

20120611-091412.jpg

Before Heliophysics, I’d never knit a circular shawl before. So I had to learn a new cast on method and get used to the idea that this shawl was going to be ginormous! I decided to not knit with lace weight (like the pattern calls for) but instead use this very nice cone (900 yards bitches!) of Harrisville Shetland Fingering in Blackberry which had been recommended to me by my lovely friend, Miss Kim. I’ve got to admit, the yarn is kinda scratchy but I have a feeling that with a good washing, the shawl will soften up.

Anyway, this design is ALSO amazing. You knit a row in pattern and then the next row you knit all the way across. It’s nice because I feel like I’m being challenged but then I also get to knit a mindless row after the challenge! I’ve been knitting this non-stop and cannot wait to knit something else by Meghan. What an AMAZING designer. (Have I said she’s amazing? No? SHE IS AMAZING!)

Enough about my knitting. For the past couple of weeks I’ve been toting around my very own POKI! bag by Moonfire Handknits. What’s a POKI!? Well, it’s this wonderful little notions bag, created by my wonderful sponsor (and good friend) Vicki. Here’s a picture of my POKI!:

20120611-092436.jpg

Inside there are many pockets for those squirrelly stitch markers that like to get lost or you can put row counters or safety pins or even little bottles of booze! (You know, for those times when your project becomes just a little bit more than a pain in the ass.) You can cinch your bag closed, throw it in your purse (or project bag) and away you go! I’ve been carrying mine around for the past couple of weeks to see if I loved it enough to recommend it to you. And guess what? I DO!

Moonfire Handknits and I teamed up to create a Miss Vicious Knits edition of the POKI! On Wednesday, you’ll be able to enter in and one lucky reader will win their own POKI! How exciting is that?

See? I promised you guys exciting things. I don’t back out on my promises.

So, my wonderful darlings, what projects have gotten you all in a tizzy? Oh, and did you participate in World Knit In Public Day this past Saturday? Where did you knit?

4 Responses to “AMAZING Doesn’t Even Begin To Describe It…”

  1. Curls & Q June 11, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Lovely!

  2. KnittingRad June 11, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    I want to knit the heliophysics. Want. Want. Want.

  3. Kate June 11, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    Watershed by Amy Swenson is the best thing I’ve ever knit. It’s simple, but the lace detail is interesting enough that it never got boring. Plus the construction is freaking genius. I was so fascinated by how the pattern worked up that I didn’t want to put it down so I could see what would come next. Just talking about it makes me want to knit another one.

  4. knitandcompany (@knitandcompany) June 11, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    Beautiful knits, Crazypants! 🙂

Leave a Reply

