What A Morning…

28 Jun

You ever get that feeling of “things should be running smoothly and just aren’t”?

I had that feeling this morning.

I’m mentally all over the place. I’ve been doing so many projects that my brain is having a hard time organizing them all. And instead of being sensible, and cataloging everything on Ravelry, I’ve just been churning out projects as quick as I can. Because right now, knitting is the only thing keeping me zen. And I SERIOUSLY need zen right now.

I had been keeping busy by working on a pair of socks for my wonderful, most fantastic, self-proclaimed bitchzilla, & kickass friend, Kim. You know, those Pirate Danger socks I wrote about? Yep. Those are for Kim. And either the pattern directions just don’t make sense to my brain, or I’m an idiot. Either way, the socks are something I’ve kinda been putting off. I have one sock done and part of me just wants to send Kim the one sock with promises that the other will be on it’s way… before the end of the year.

20120628-092540.jpg

So I have one of those done. And then I stopped so I could test-knit Heliophysics for the most amazing Meghan Jackson. I had SO much fun with it. I was sad when I had to bind off! (Heliophysics will be available for individual download in October. Right now it is currently a part of the Wrapped Up in Yummy Yarn Club and the pattern is available through the club.)

20120628-094822.jpg20120628-094838.jpg20120628-094849.jpg

And then I wanted MORE Meghan Jackson knits. I couldn’t stop myself. So I am almost done with a top secret test knit for her (as soon as she gives me the ok, I’ll share it with you. I promise!) But here’s where I come back to “things should be running smoothly and just aren’t.” This morning I left the top secret test knit at home. I am about 10 rows away from binding off, and in my hurry to leave this morning, I had boychild throw in a ball of yarn for Kim’s second Pirate Sock (which I figured I could work on AFTER I bound off on the top secret test knit) but completely forgotten that the top secret test knit was not in my purse, that I had taken it out last night.

BAH!

And with the way the weather has been here (HOT), it’s hard to knit at home where there’s no air conditioning and my hands get sweaty and then the yarn gets locked up on my needles (knitters, you know what I’m talking about) and then I throw down the project in frustration and have to make sure to write down SOMEWHERE where I left off, otherwise I am COMPLETELY fucked and have no idea where I stopped knitting.

Things should be running smoothly. And they just aren’t.

And rational people would say “Well, why don’t you work on it tomorrow?” You know what I say to you rational people? Shut Your Fuckin’ Pie Hole! I HAVE A SCHEDULE! I have knitting plans and things that need to get done and if it gets messed up then I feel COMPLETELY disorganized. And right now, my knitting is the only thing in my life that IS organized.

Please tell me that I’m not the only one who gets worked up like this. Are you as anal about getting shit done in a timely manner as I am?

3 Responses to “What A Morning…”

  1. Deb R June 28, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    No

  2. Patti B June 28, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    I’m not that committed, but sometimes I wish I was. Right now I’ve got a dozen WIPs (not counting the one I intend the frog)

  3. Tina June 28, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    Great projects and don’t you just love Meghan’s designs ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

