REVIEW: RicRac by Meghan Jackson

11 Jul

20120711-101113.jpg

Sometimes when people write reviews, they ooh and aah over something but don’t give me the details I really want. Like, can this pattern be modified? What are some obstacles I might come across? Can you use another descriptor for the pattern other than “lovely”?

So while I test-knit (remember I said I was working on some top secret knits?) RicRac for Meghan Jackson, I took notes. I wrote down things I came across or things I thought my readers might like to know about the pattern. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, a lot of the time when I knit, I think I know better than the designer. “Oh, I can do THIS instead of what they asked for!” And a lot of the time it works… and sometimes it doesn’t. In this particular case, the pattern can easily be modified.

20120711-101139.jpg

RicRac calls for 500 yards of fingering weight yarn and for the pattern to be knit with US size 6 needles. What did I do? I used 463 yards of fingering weight yarn (At Knit’s End ‘Tip It Ewe Lush’) and US size 5s. I didn’t want to use a skein and just a little bit of a second so I figured if I went down a needle size, then the lack of yardage would be ok. And you know what? It was. I scraped by with a little bit of yarn left over. Although, knitting RicRac the way I did produces a smaller shawl (yeah, it’s kind of a shawlette.) And the pattern calls for beads. I didn’t do the beads. I’ve never done beadwork in any of my knitting and for a test knit, I wasn’t willing to potentially eff things up trying something ELSE entirely new.

RicRac is knit top down and has a garter body. Then it is turned to knit a short row lace border (something I’d never done before.) There are written AND chart instructions, both are super easy (if you have down the basic knitting skills) & fun to follow. Plus, the entire knit took me 8 days to finish. I worked on it inconsistently but dedicated some serious hours to it.

I’ll admit, by the time I was halfway through the garter body, I was pushing myself to finish. It got a little monotonous. BUT the lace section was fun! And I know I’ve said before that I don’t like knitting in pattern on the wrong side of lace work, I’d rather just purl, but even following a pattern on the wrong side didn’t bother me.

Seriously, if you’re looking for an interesting knit, I HIGHLY suggest this one. It’s zen with the garter body, but interesting with the lace border.

20120711-101240.jpg

One Response to “REVIEW: RicRac by Meghan Jackson”

  1. Sandi Blanc (@TheBlueEwe) July 11, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Oh my, it looks wonderful and the Zen knitting really appeals to me

Leave a Reply

