Sometimes I Wonder…

26 Nov

Sometimes I wonder if Knitters are as strange and awkward in real life as I am. I like to think that on the internet (especially on Twitter) I come across as being cool and bad ass. But in real life? Nope.

I was looking at one of my secret knitter heroes online, The Sexy Knitter, and she comes across as cool and awesome as a chick could hope to be. And then, I went looking (at this point I was probably cyber-stalking a bit) at the pictures of herself that she posted on Ravelry. Now, I’m not gonna lie. She looks pretty. But in some of the pictures she also looks awkward. Like maybe she was like me in school and didn’t have a shit ton of friends and wasn’t popular.

Sometimes I also wonder about these “fabulous” people I follow on Twitter. I almost feel like we’re friends, like we have a great going back and forth, but then sometimes it’s hard for me to realize that I don’t actually KNOW them. And they don’t know me. Like Lisa from Northbound Knitting. She’s amazing and awesome and at times I forget that she doesn’t actually know me, hasn’t actually met me, and my eagerness to be her friend on the internet might be misconstrued as me just being a weirdo.

Nope, I just really want a friend.

Anyway, back to what I was wondering. In real life, are these people as awesome as I think they are? Or have I put them on these ridiculous pedestals? Do any of you do this?

6 Responses to “Sometimes I Wonder…”

  1. Lynda the Guppy November 26, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    Dude. It is SOOOO not just you. LOL. I’m that way with both knitters AND authors. And one of my favorite authors decided to follow me on twitter? I’m STILL giddy about it. LOLOL. And I turned Squeeing Fangirl in front of one of my favorite romance authors. I’ve met big-name actors & authors FAR more popular than she, and seriously…It is not pretty when a 41YO woman squees. Trust me.

    I was chatting with an author that’s now an online pal and she told me she was really excited to meet…Me. Nearly fell out of my chair. LOLOL. But I’m just ME! She said that authors (and I assume this applies to knitters, too) get just as excited to meet US as we do to meet THEM.

  2. Lynda the Guppy November 26, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    Oh, and I have a friend who has met Sexy Knitter. She’s really very nice.

  3. Alex November 26, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    I will vouch for Sarah being awesome in person! But human, certainly πŸ™‚ With a perhaps inhuman amount of skill and discipline when it comes to all matters of lookin’ fierce. She’s like a lion tamer but for curls.

    I am definitely more awkward in person… and more introverted and reclusive. Nice thing about the Internet is that you can step away at a moments notice with no foul πŸ™‚ A wonderful thing for the hermitty soul.

  4. The Sexy Knitter November 26, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Aw, hey! You’re talking about me! πŸ™‚ Let me tell you, I WAS super awkward and unpopular in high school, and half the time I still feel that way. As creative types, I think it’s almost necessary to have inspirational folks to look up to (and it’s just weird/cool to think I’d be one of those people to anyone, ever), but…everyone puts their pants on one leg at a time, right? πŸ™‚

  5. Dani November 27, 2012 at 2:40 am #

    Depends on your definition of awesome.

    An Awesome Reclusive Awkward Baddass.

    ;0)

  6. Jillian November 27, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    The awesomest people are always weirdos, darling! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

